Proven Impact

Many of our flagship schools have had Ofsted Inspections or Local Authority Reviews where nice things have been said about the work we have done through consultancy or insets or how the Literary Curriculum has been implemented to support Reading and Writing outcomes. They will happily talk to you about the impact they feel this has had on:

  • raising attainment in reading and writing outcomes at the end of KS1 and KS2
  • increasing engagement in lessons
  • improving whole-school reading for pleasure culture
  • staff demonstrating a renewed interest in pedagogical and subject knowledge

Here are some quotes that we feel capture the points above from recent inspections of schools who have fully implemented the Literary Curriculum.

The school’s investment in reading has been the catalyst for raising standards in writing. Every class works from a core text on a three-weekly cycle. Each text is carefully chosen to develop pupils’ imagination, vocabulary, language structure and a love of reading. Where possible, careful links are made to the wider curriculum so that pupils apply their reading skills to writing in a range of contexts.

Barrow Hill Junior School, Ofsted September 2018

Teachers choose texts which challenge pupils of all abilities.

Curriculum innovations are having an impact on outcomes for pupils, particularly in the progress they now make in writing.

Teachers select books carefully in every class to help disadvantaged pupils improve their reading and comprehension skills. As a result, the teaching of writing is now matched more precisely to what pupils need to learn next.

St Johns and St Clement’s C of E Primary School, London. Ofsted March 2018

The teaching of writing is enabling teachers to weave the teaching of spelling and grammar into the unit of learning. The impact of spelling and grammar activities can be seen in the way pupils are now using their newly acquired skills in subsequent pieces of work.

Highgate Primary Academy, Rotherham. Ofsted June 2017

Pupils study challenging and exciting texts which spark their imagination and curiosity. Pupils are confident readers and demonstrate a secure understanding of punctuation and a rich, wide-ranging vocabulary.

Pupils are given many opportunities to write at length and for different purposes.

Pupils are extremely proud of their achievements, and eager to share their thinking and ideas. This confidence is evident in their writing.

Talavera Junior School, Hampshire. Ofsted January 2018

High-quality texts are used as a springboard for learning across the curriculum and this motivates pupils to learn.

Children learn to be creative because of the wide range of interesting activities available. The activities are linked, where possible, to a book, which helps children to engage with their learning more effectively and extends their knowledge and understanding of the world.

Camelot Primary School, London. Ofsted February 2018

We are also very excited about schools who are using the Literary Curriculum who get back in touch to tell us how they are getting on. Here are a few quotes –

The impact The Literacy Tree are having on both Reading and Writing at my school is terrific. Standards are improving dramatically and quickly; the children are buzzing about the writing they do and the books they are reading.

David Tomlinson, Headteacher, Barrow Hill Junior School, Westminster

We love the Literary Curriculum style of English teaching and it is now truly embedded in our practice. We use their embedded approach for our English lessons. It has had a tremendous impact on English teaching and learning in our school.

Kristina Holness Assistant head, St Mark’s Merton

After just one year of using the Literary Curriculum the standards of writing in our school are exceptional.  Children are captivated by the high quality texts, innovative ways of learning language and thought provoking subject matter.  The planning sequences have given them the confidence to aim high and expect to be impressed!

Lena Pennacchia, Headteacher, Churchill Primary, Kent

Using The Literary Curriculum has transformed English across our school. Children's writing has become so much more creative, purposeful, independent and of high quality. The variety of texts available have left our children and staff enthused - couldn't recommend it more highly.

Hannah Baker, Vice Principal, Highgate Primary Academy, Rotherham

Love the Literacy Tree! Great, well chosen books that create immersive learning whilst embedding SPaG and creating wonderful outcomes. The children I've taught through this have become engaged readers and have developed a passion for reading and writing #immersivelearning

Miss Flitter (on Twitter September 2018)

We are loving in Parrot Class. I am amazed at the improvements that can be seen already! We started our genre by reading The Hidden Forest by Jeannie Baker. We have now created a persuasive text all about the disappearing sea kelp.  

Miss Caldwell09 (On Twitter October 2018)

It starts with a simple text choice... but add in a sprinkle of passion, a drop of inspiration and a drizzle of enthusiasm and creative young writers are born.

Maxine Cutforth, Assistant Headteacher, Talavera Junior School

Our GSP and writing scores were fantastic this year due to all the Literacy Tree planning sequences we follow. We were 93% Expected and 53% Greater Depth when 2 years ago we were 65% expected.

Amanda Webb, Headteacher, Talavera Junior School, Hampshire

Our English curriculum is transformed! Our pupils are exposed to quality texts every day and we get excited by the new planning sequences and texts we can expose them to.

Amy Wood, Deputy Headteacher, Gallion's Primary, Newham

We have thoroughly enjoyed working with The Literacy Tree. Their personalised approach, catering for the needs of the school, allowed us to effectively gain a deeper understanding of teaching reading.

Claire Meares, English Coordinator, St George's International School, Luxembourg
The Literacy Tree, D129 Parkhall Business Centre, 40 Martell Road, London, SE21 8EN | Company Registered no: 07951913
Searching...
Loading...

Sequences

  • The Tear Thief

    KS: LKS2 / UKS2, Lower KS2, R & KS1 / LKS2

    Year Group: Year 3

    More Info
  • Jabberwocky

    KS: LKS2 / UKS2, Lower KS2, R & KS1 / LKS2

    Year Group: Year 4

    More Info
  • A Literary Leaf for The Firework Maker's Daughter

    KS: Literary Leaves, LKS2 / UKS2, Lower KS2

    Year Group: Year 4

    More Info

Training

  • 14 Dec

    Teach Through a Text in Year 6

    Suitable for: Year 6

    View Details
  • 11 Jan

    Teaching Reading Comprehension in LKS2

    Suitable for: Years 3 & 4

    View Details
  • 18 Jan

    Teaching Reading Comprehension in UKS2

    Suitable for: Years 5 & 6

    View Details

Blog & Booklists

  • Christmas Bibliotherapy: Staff Picks for 2018

    Posted On: 26/11/2018

    Read More
  • November Literature Review

    Posted On: 27/10/2018

    Read More
  • Why Purpose and Audience, Not Genre, is Key to Teaching Writing

    Posted On: 05/10/2018

    Read More